Palliative Care 5N3769 | June – Aug 2021

Course Name QQI Level 5 Palliative Care Support
Course Code 5N3769
Duration 34 Hours (evenings and Saturdays)
Location Derrane, Roscommon + Online (Zoom)
Module Status Optional
Accreditation QQI Level 5-Elective Module on the QQI Level 5 Major Award

Following HSE guidelines RSG has implemented suitable appropriate control measures place to mitigate the risk of COVID-19 infection:

  • Social distancing 2 metre (6 feet) space between you and other people
  • Provision of PPE
  • Provision of Hand Sanitiser
  • Provision of face masks

Due to demand, there are now two groups for Palliative Care in 2021. Apply or contact us for availability.

Schedule (Group 1):

Date Day Time Location Total Hours
10 Jun Thursday 06:00 PM INTRO In Class /Online 4 hrs
15 Jun Tuesday 06:00 PM Online Zoom 4 hrs
17 Jun Thursday 07:00 PM Online Zoom 3 hrs
22 Jun Tuesday 07:00 PM Online Zoom 3 hrs
24 Jun Thursday 07:00 PM Online Zoom 3 hrs
26 Jun Saturday 10:00 AM FLC In Class 7 hrs
29 Jun Tuesday 06:00 PM Online Zoom 4 hrs
01 Jul Thursday 07:00 PM Online Zoom 3 hrs
02 Jul Friday 07:00 PM FLC In Class/Online 3 hrs
Further 6 hours for Learner Support & Reviews 34 hrs

Schedule (Group 2):

Date Day Time Location Total Hours
16 Jul Friday 06:00 PM INTRO In Class/Online 4 hrs
20 Jul Tuesday 06:00 PM Online Zoom 4 hrs
22 Jul Thursday 07:00 PM Online Zoom 3 hrs
27 Jul Tuesday 07:00 PM Online Zoom 3 hrs
29 Jul Thursday 07:00 PM Online Zoom 3 hrs
30 Jul Friday 07:00 PM FLC In Class 3 hrs
03 Aug Tuesday 07:00 PM Online Zoom 3 hrs
05 Aug Thursday 06:00 PM Online Zoom 4 hrs
07 Aug Saturday 10:00 AM FLC In Class 7 hrs
Further 6 hours for Learner Support & Reviews 34 hrs

TO APPLY CLICK HERE and select your module(s) of choice or for more information call us on 086 166 8428

Course Aim
This course is designed to equip learners with  the required skills, knowledge and competence to provide person-centred care to a person diagnosed with a life-limiting illness, to work effectively within the multi-disciplinary palliative care team and to support the dying person’s significant others in a palliative care setting.

Course Content

  • Working with a Palliative Approach
  • Communication skills
  • Death & Dying
  • Bereavement

Entry Level

  • QQI Level 4 Certificate or equivalent qualification and /or relevant life and work experience
  • Competent in spoken and written English

Progression Route
Learners who complete this module can progress towards the full QQI Level 5 Major Award in Healthcare Support 5M4339

Assessment

  • Learner Record allocated by the tutor (70%)
  • Assignment on the Philosophy and Principles of Palliative Care (30%)

Course Delivery
All training is delivered in a people centred, friendly and enjoyable learning environment to ensure each learner is given every opportunity to acquire the necessary knowledge, skills and competent in order to excel in their caring role.  Training is delivered using a variety of methodologies involving class tuition, group discussions and role play. Training is delivered by expert dedicated tutors with a background in-depth knowledge and experience of the Healthcare sector.

Font Resize